Arctic Five in Brussels

Arctic Five Rectors’ Council meeting was held on September 27 in Brussels, hosted by the North Norway European Office and North Sweden EU offices. Main decisions by the Rectors were the development of the Arctic Five Fellows initiative towards a pilot call for late 2022 early 2023 and joining forces for an application to Nordforsk call on Nordic University Networks. Rectors’ Council also decided that the next Arctic Five Sercetariat will be hosted by LTU (2023-2025), followed by UiT (2025-2027) and rotation for the secretariat closed by Oulu (2027-2029).

Meeting was held in conjunction with the Nordic University days, that collected nearly 60 rectors and vice-rectors to Brussels from all Nordic Countries. Rectors met with Margrethe Vestager, Executive Vice-President of the European Commission (speech Nordic University Days (, Christel Schaldemose, Member of the European Parliament, Vanessa Debiais-Sainton, Head of Unit, European Commission, DG Education, Youth, Sport & Culture, Signe Rastso, Acting Director-General, European Commission, DG Research & Innovation, Maria Cristina Russo, Director, European Commission DG Research & Innovation, Global Approach & International Partnerships, and Maria Leptin, President ERC.

From left Harri Malinen, Urmas Paet, Dag Avango, Kari Aalto, Niklas Johansson, Eerikki Vainio, Anna Skott and Peter Sköld

Arctic Five Leadership also met several EU actors during September 26-27. Main meeting were with Clara Ganslandt, the newly appointed Arctic Envoy from EU’s Diplomatic Service (EEAS) and Member of the European Parliament, Urmas Paet, DG RTD Healthy Oceans and Seas Unit Policy officers dealing with Arctic Calls and Missions and International Polar Foundation organising the upcoming Arctic Futures Conference. Please also check LinkedIn post by the North norway EU office on the meetings

From left Harri Malinen, Dag Avango, Klara Ganslandt, Peter Sköld and Kari Aalto

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: