15 Arctic Five Chairs appointed

The Arctic Five partner universities are pleased to announce the appointment of fifteen Chairs to the alliance – all of whom are highly ranked scholars from across the human, social, natural and technical sciences.

A word-cloud using “keywords” describing the research projects of the Arctic Five Chairs

As part of the Arctic Five’s flagship Chairs & Fellows programme, this inaugural group of chairs represents a new collaboration format for the Arctic Five, where each chair has defined their research focus and plans, while framing the scope of collaboration, including potential linkages with educational activities.

Dag Avango
Co-director of The Arctic Five, and Head of the Chairs & Fellows initiative

These appointments will help build a strong foundation for the Arctic Five alliance, and the collective efforts of our Chairs offer great potential for the stimulation and growth of cross-institutional and cross-disciplinary research and education.

Visit our Chairs page to meet our Arctic Five Chairs and learn about their respective projects.

The funded term for each Chair is 2 years (2022-2024), with the possibility of an additional 1-year extension. All appointments corresponding to this round will formally commence on June 1st, at which time the chairs will begin establishing and leading their respective cross-disciplinary group of colleagues from other Arctic Five universities and beyond. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: